Workforce Development Board Member Information

2019 Workforce Development Board Meeting Schedule

Wednesday, July 10, 2019 (Stark County)

Wednesday, September 4, 2019 (Stark County)

Wednesday, November 6, 2019 (Tuscarawas County)

Wednesday, January 8, 2020 (Stark County)

Wednesday, March 4, 2020 (Stark County)

Wednesday, May 6, 2020 (Tuscarawas County)


**Unless otherwise noted, the meetings will be held on the 1st Wednesday of every other month beginning at 12:00 pm.


Accepted Bylaws

Board Members

The Workforce Development Board (WDB) is comprised of individuals who represent business, economic development, education, labor and community organizations. They work in close partnership with the Stark and Tuscarawas County Commissioners in planning, administering and overseeing workforce development programs funded under the federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act.

The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), enacted in 2014, is the federal legislation under which public workforce development programs are conducted. WIOA is intended to serve all job seekers and employers offering a universal service model.

The Workforce Development Board aids area businesses by serving as a community workforce development catalyst, promoting not only a strong economic development effort, but also to support our community’s capacity to meet the challenges of a high productivity workplace. This is accomplished by assuring that education and employment opportunities are well planned and supported by the private sector; are well coordinated within the community; afford ease of access; are of high quality; and demonstrate an acceptable return on taxpayer investment.

In 2006, the Board created the Workforce Investment Council, a 501c3, to seek grants and other private funding to enhance and expand workforce development activities in Stark and Tuscarawas Counties.

Stark Tuscarawas Workforce Development Board Members

Officers and Executive Director

Darwin Smith
WDB Chair
Union Hospital

Tim Beauch
WDB Vice Chair
Aultman Health Foundation

Daniel Sciury 
WDB Treasurer
Hall of Fame Central Labor Council,AFL-CIO

Dave Wheeler
WDB Secretary
American Electric Power (AEP)

Jennifer Meek Eells
WDB Executive Director

Board Members

Joseph Burley
Wheeling and Lake Erie Railway Company

Stephen Carson

Terri Davis
Ohio Billing, Inc.

Harry Eadon, Jr.
The Economic Development & Finance Alliance of Tuscarawas County

Deborah Forkas 
Stark County Job and Family Services

Kristin Hannon
Charter Communications/Spectrum

Business Services

Para Jones
Stark State College

Alison Kerns
Harcatus Tri-County C.A.O., Inc.

William Larman
Allied Machine and Engineering

Mike Lewis
Buckeye Career Center

Mark Locke
Alliance Chamber of Commerce

Marc Manheim
Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities

Steven Meeks
Canton Regional Chamber of Commerce

Rick Moss
Iron Workers Local 550 Canton

Scott Robinson
Tuscarawas County Chamber of Commerce

Joseph Sekely

Robin Waltz
United Way of Tuscarawas County

Local Elected Officials

Stark County Commissioners
Janet Weir Creighton, Chief Elected Official
Richard Regula
Bill Smith

Tuscarawas County Commissioners
Chris Abbuhl
Al Landis
Joe Sciarretti